Glass Hostaria in Rome

In the maze of narrow medieval streets, on the west of the Tiber, among the historical treasures and the most active nightlife in Rome, is the Glass Hostaria restaurant. This restaurant, like a pearl, stands out among ancient houses and architecture, as well as the activity of Cristina Bowerman stands out among Italian chefs.
Almost every Italian chef has a fascinating story of how his mother or grandmother, who cook best, taught him all the secrets of Italian cuisine. And who, if not Cristina will cook better than your grandmother. In spite of all these challenges, focusing on the overall activities of Chef Cristina, emphasis on her new cooking technique, many nominations and titles, Cristina is a very modest and hospitable person. I already had a beautiful experience with her for the “Chefs” project in the first season, and from the first meeting, Cristina showed herself as a professional and a person with a big heart. When I came to her restaurant, I felt as if I came to my mother. The care that Cristina pays to absolutely every guest, and her attention to detail is limitless.
You have to understand that Italian cuisine in Glass Hostaria is different from the standards. Traditional tastes are mixed with new techniques and the enormous knowledge that Cristina gained while traveling the world. Therefore, what you try in this restaurant, you can not find in another, and of course, you can not repeat it at home.

Freedom and courage are two terms that I associate with Glass. But I want to note that Cristina likes to surprise, so you can find a lot of surprises during dinner, such as bright new tastes at the bottom of the dish, crispy textures hidden in soft, unexpected combinations that blow your taste buds.
Also, I want to say about democracy in the restaurant. Due to the fact that one of my close friends is a vegetarian, I began to pay attention to the availability of a this menu in restaurants. The fact that in Glass there is a vegetarian menu makes me very happy. And there is also a special payment program for guests under 25 years old. Cristina really took care of everyone.

The forerunners of a bright dinner were amuse-bouche. The amazing taste of olives in unrivaled liquid form, which explode in the mouth, soft and delicate snacks, but rich enough to trace every taste.

Beef tartare, poached egg and Italian prosciutto. The name of the menu perfectly describes this dish: traditional menu, but not too much. Agree, that it is almost impossible to invent something new with tartar, but it is perfectly legal to mix eternal classics with a traditional Italian products.

Then one of my favorite dishes of this evening, probably because I really like smoked tastes. Veal heart, smoked potatoes, coffee sauce, habanero and truffle. Very clear stratification in a perfect combination – I think this is the main goal of every chef, Cristina perfectly preserved the balance.

And here is what I meant as a surprise – risotto, genovese sauce, coffee, mandarin, cauliflower and cocoa nibs. This dish was a real discovery, because despite the fact that there are various textures into the risotto, the sauce at the bottom completely unexpectedly continues the dish.

Lamb, sumac, chicory and aged pecorino cheese. For me, this is a direct dinner association in real Roman families. It is a tribute to traditions and respect for great culture. I was particularly pleased that my first dinner in Rome, after a trip to Oslo, stopped at this dish.

And, for dessert, a real study from the chef: condensed milk, espresso jelly and Baileys ice cream. Three different forms, three different tastes and structures, but which create an ensemble and quite harmoniously combine with each other.

I want to say that Glass Hostaria does not need to be compared with other restaurants in Rome that have a Michelin star. This is a different format and an unequaled concept, in order to understand this you need to feel it – and this is the main criterion of this restaurant. I just want to mention Cristina and the fact that she is making a real progress in Italy and abroad. The uniqueness and the rarest talent of this woman surprises and delights, and of course, I am very proud and glad that I’m honored to know this person personally.

2 thoughts on “Glass Hostaria in Rome”

Leave a comment