Lyle’s in London

It’s difficult to describe this place. Close your eyes and imagine: in an overcast London, an old smokehouse… (sounds very English). This is not all. Lyle’s Restaurant has one Michelin star. And what if this is old smokehouse, you think, inside is probably elegant, with English charm, white tablecloths and exquisite interior. Nope. Inside the white walls, concrete floor, metal lamps and wooden tables, without tablecloths and other pops.

The restaurant has an open kitchen, I always support it. I like watching how the chefs cook, how they say to each other. I begin to feel the life of the restaurant as a separate organism and I like it, it makes me feel involved in the dinner. I can characterize this place with two concepts: the Northern style with elements of minimalism. If I had a restaurant, then I’m 80% sure that I would choose this style. Not because I don’t care, but because I feel so. Despite this sternness, gloominess and cold colors, in a restaurant you feel relaxed and free. This interior can be called one word – the TRUTH. Because nothing is hidden, and nothing is trying to seem better.

This philosophy is smoothly transmitted in the menu of restaurant. James Lowe has developed incredible dishes. At first glance this may seem too simple and even slightly rude, but when you taste the dish, you will be surprised how simple and ordinary products can look and match with other tastes. James Lowe really likes to mix, but nevertheless, you will not lose the emphasis of the main ingredients. This is art. In his kitchen he uses fresh seasonal products of high quality. Therefore the word “TRUTH” is suitable not only for the interior, but also for the philosophy of cooking.

As for alcohol, you will find a good collection of aperitifs and good wines. Even in the bar there are Scandinavian accents and a northern character.

Lyle’s restaurant is a place with an awareness of its own importance, where good food, good atmosphere and good people.

2 thoughts on “Lyle’s in London”

  1. I love the comment you make about watching the chefs interact in the open kitchen. I am a chef and it is refreshing to hear that the journey of the food is appreciated and how the chefs contribute to the restaurant’s atmosphere. Most of the time it feels like all the customers want is food and as quickly as possible! Also I’m jealous you’ve eaten at Lyles…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment